Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

JBossAS7 - Standalone Server

Overview

Internal Name: JBossAS7 Standalone Server
Description: Standalone AS7 server
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7
Managed Resource Configuration
The server can be started, restarted, or stopped via the Start, Restart, and Shutdown operations. The Start and
Restart operations start the server by executing the server start script, typically standalone.sh on UNIX or
standalone.bat on Windows. The following connection settings can be used to configure the start script execution:
  • Start Script - the absolute path of the start script (e.g. "/opt/jboss-as-7.1.1.Final/bin/standalone.sh")
  • Start Script Prefix - a prefix command line to be prepended to the start script command line (e.g. "nohup sudo -u jboss -g jboss")
  • Start Script Arguments - arguments to be passed to the start script (e.g. "--server-config=standalone-full-ha.xml")
  • Start Script Environment - environment variables to be set in the start script's environment (e.g. "JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_30")

These settings are automatically initialized by the JBossAS7 plugin discovery code to match the currently running
server process' command line and environment.

The settings are not used by the Stop operation, since it stops the server via the management interface, not via
a script.

For more detailed descriptions of the settings, see the Connection Settings section below.

Child Resource Types

Autodiscovery Process Scans

Name Query
StandaloneAS process|basename|match=^java.*,arg|org.jboss.as.standalone|match=.*

Connection Settings

Name Description Required Internal Name
Start Script Path The path to the script that the Start and Restart operations should use to start the server. If the path is
not absolute, it is resolved relative to the server home directory
(e.g. "bin/standalone.sh", "bin/domain.sh").
no startScript
Start Script Prefix A prefix command line that should be prepended to the start script command line by the Start and Restart
operations; the prefix command must be an absolute path (e.g. "/usr/bin/sudo"). This property is
most commonly used to run the AS7 process as a different user than the RHQ Agent (e.g. "sudo -u jboss
-g jboss" could be used to run AS7 as user "jboss" and group "jboss". It is also
possible to chain prefix commands (e.g. "nohup sudo -u jboss" could be used to make AS7 ignore HUP
signals and to run as user "jboss").
no startScriptPrefix
Start Script Environment Variables The variables that the Start and Restart operations will add to the environment of the server start script.
Each name=value pair should be on a new line. Variable values should *not* be enclosed in quotes (e.g.
"JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_30"). On UNIX systems, the typical minimum set of environment variables is:
PATH=/usr/bin:/bin . And on Windows the typical minimum set is: PATH=C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows ,
OS=Windows_NT , SYSTEMROOT=C:\Windows . In addition, it is good practice to set JAVA_HOME to the absolute
path of the install directory of the JRE or JDK you wish to use to run the AS7 instance. However, if
JAVA_HOME is not specified, the start script will attempt to find java in the PATH.
no startScriptEnv
Start Script Arguments The arguments that the Start and Restart operations will pass to the server
start script. Each argument should be on a new line - for example: --server-config=standalone-ha-full.xml.
As an exception, the value of a space-delimited option can optionally be on the same line as the option -
for example: -c standalone-ha-full.xml.
no startScriptArgs
Log Event Sources   yes logEventSources
Hostname   yes hostname
Port   yes port
User Management user for a secured AS no user
Password Password for the management user no password
Home Directory Root directory of the server installation no homeDir
Base Directory Base directory for server content no baseDir
Configuration Directory Base configuration directory no configDir
Log Directory the directory where log files will be written for this server no logDir
Deployment directory Deploy directory for standalone servers no deployDir
Product Type Server product type (e.g. AS or EAP) no productType
You must use the internal name to reference properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Metrics

Name Type Description Internal Name
Number of management requests measurement Number of requests sent to the controller _internal:mgmtRequests
Number of management requests per Minute measurement Number of requests sent to the controller _internal:mgmtRequests
Time used for management requests measurement Total time for requests _internal:requestTime
Time used for management requests per Minute measurement Total time for requests _internal:requestTime
Maximum request time measurement Max time for a request since last metric get _internal:maxTime
Server State trait Detailed server state server-state
Server Code Name trait Server Code Name _skm:release-codename
Server Version trait Server Version _skm:release-version
Product Name trait Product Name _skm:product-name
Product Version trait Product Version _skm:product-version
Server Start Time trait Server Start Time startTime
Server Config File trait The name of the server configuration file this server is using config-file
You must use the internal name to reference traits in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Configuration Properties

Name Description Required Internal Name
Properties   no *2
Path The standard paths provided by the system include: jboss.home - the root directory of the JBoss AS distribution; user.home - user's home directory; user.dir - user's current working directory; java.home - java installation directory; jboss.server.base.dir - root directory for an individual server instance; jboss.server.data.dir - directory the server will use for persistent data file storage; jboss.server.log.dir - directory the server will use for log file storage; jboss.server.tmp.dir - directory the server will use for temporary file storage; jboss.domain.servers.dir - directory under which a host controller will create the working area for individual server instances no *3
Installed extensions   no *1
Base Dir The base directory for JBoss Application Server. yes base-dir
Config Dir The directory where the configurations are stored. yes config-dir
Config File The configuration file used to launch JBoss Application Server. yes config-file
Content Dir The directory where user content (e.g. deployments) that is managed by the server is stored. yes content-dir
Data Dir The data directory. yes data-dir
Deploy Dir Deprecated variant of 'content-dir'. yes deploy-dir
Ext Dirs A list of ext directories. yes ext-dirs
Home Dir The home directory for JBoss Application Server. yes home-dir
Host Name The host name. yes host-name
Initial Running Mode The current running mode of the server. Either LIVE (normal operations) or ADMIN_ONLY. An ADMIN_ONLY server will start any configured management interfaces and accept management requests, but will not start services used for handling end user requests. yes initial-running-mode
Launch Type The type of the running server. yes launch-type
Log Dir The directory where log files are sent. yes log-dir
Modules Dir The directory where modules are found. yes modules-dir
Node Name The name of the server node. yes node-name
Qualified Host Name The qualified host name. yes qualified-host-name
Server Name The name of the server. yes server-name
Temp Dir The temporary directory. yes temp-dir
You must use the internal name to reference properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Operations

Name Description
Reload Make the server re-load the (changed) configuration. To load a different startup config use 'restart'
Start Start the server by invoking its start script
Restart Restart the server by shutting it down and invoking its start script
Shutdown Shut down the server.
Install RHQ user Installs a user in the server for management
Labels:
None
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.
Page: JBossAS7 - Datasources (Standalone) Service Page: JBossAS7 - DeploymentScanner Service Page: JBossAS7 - General JCA connectors Service Page: JBossAS7 - ModCluster Standalone Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - CMP Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Datagrid Endpoints Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Deployment Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - EE Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - EJB3 Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Infinispan Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JacORB Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JAXR Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JBossWeb Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JCA Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JDR Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JGroups Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JMX Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JPA Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - JVM Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Logging Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Mail Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Messaging-Provider Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Naming Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Network Interface Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Osgi Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Remoting Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Resource Adapters Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Security Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - SocketBindingGroup Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Threads Service Page: JBossAS7 - Standalone Server - Webservices Service Page: JBossAS7 - Transactions Subsystem (Standalone) Service